Apple Computers, Inc. 1988 – 1999

I’m clearly into Apple products. No denying that.

I started on a Apple IIe and was awe-struck.

Through family business and friends, I was weaned from Apple and onto Macs. I came to know an underdog, a company with a vision – far and above the mediocrity I saw in other PCs, a company that made products that helped trained me into the employable individual I am today. I feel a degree of thanks, if nothing else.

In retrospect my introduction to the Mac, after the Apple, happened late in the game. I think I finally got access to an SE/30, a 9″ B&W screen in what would be known as the “Classic” shell, when there were LCIII+s in my classroom. But that didn’t stop the joy of it, and the time I poured into it.

I used ResEdit to rip apart and destroy applications, I played with the System Folder – I tweaked every aspect of it, short of actually coding (a shortcoming that would be a theme in my engagement with technology). I knew it, and the Operating System, so well that soon I was providing support to adults, peers and my school alike. (Another theme that has run through my life, and is more relevant today.)

Begging and inevitable redundancy upgraded the SE/30 the the LC575. Another all in one, a display with thousands of colours and a CD-ROM drive. I regret that I passed that machine on, it was part of the classic designs of Apple PCs at the time. Something that quickly changed.

Jobs got the sack somewhere in there, and some bastard called Gil Amelio schlepped on board, paving the way for clones. Clones. UMAX branded machines running the Mac OS (8, at the time. Gone and thankfully forgotten.) I stopped paying attention.

PowerMacs came out, and I ended up with a 7300. It’s not even worth linking to – an array of beige boxes and four-digit model names as Apple Computer, Inc waned and sunk and looked like it might die. I clunked away on QuarkXpress and Photoshop, and cared more about my work than the machine. I was passionate about design and making wonderful, beautiful things. Audience-less things, too. Some of which I wish I had, still.

Anyhow – the point was the machines and the company were terribly undesirable, but still preferable than wrangling with Windows 98, drivers and a truly woeful implementation of PostScript printer support. They still let me work.

And then…Jobs, iMacs…and the rest is history.

I’ll maybe bring a post about how I feel about Apple, Inc (nee Computer), no longer the underdog.

Leave a Reply

